clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oregon State Football: Most Valuable Player Countdown - #11 Gus Lavaka

The sophomore will need to continue to be an anchor of the O-Line.

Oregon State v Washington Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

Oregon State's 2017 offensive line will be without the starting center and both starting tackles from last season. For that reason, they'll need to lean on the experience of their guards. After filling in at left guard for an injured Fred Lauina last year, sophomore Gus Lavaka will return to that spot this year.

Lavaka came to OSU from Kearns, Utah last year and showed promise immediately. He appeared in ten games, starting seven after the injury to Lauina. His performance earned him freshman All-American honors from both Campus Insiders and Pro Football Focus. The Pac-12 also named him an All-Conference Honorable Mention for 2016 and he made Athlon's National and Pac-12 All-Freshman teams.

Coming into this season, Athlon also tabbed him an All-Pac-12 Fourth Team member. Lavaka is also on the watch list for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award.

The 6'4", 345 pounder has reportedly been dealing with a bicep issue during fall camp, so hopefully it's minor. The offensive line really can't afford to deal with the same quantity of injury issues that they dealt with last year.

Lavaka's on field experience and his resume from last year may secure him a starting spot, but he's got plenty left to prove. Look for him to expand on his impressive body of work this year clearing the way for Ryan Nall on the interior.

The List So Far:

#11: Gus Lavaka - OG

#12: Kalani Vakameilalo - DT

#13: Elu Aydon - DT

#14: Thomas Tyner - RB

#15: Andrzej Hughes-Murray - LB

#16: Blake Brandel - OT

#17: Timmy Hernandez - WR

#18: Sumner Houston - Center

#19: Baker Pritchard- DE

#20: Kammy Delp - OG

#21: Artavis Pierce - RB

#22: Phillip Napoleon - DE

#23: Brandon Arnold - S

#24: Jay Irvine - CB

#25: Isaiah Hodgins - WR

#26: Christian Wallace - CB

#27: Trent Moore - OL

#28: Titus Failuaga - DE

#29: Dwayne Williams - CB

#30: Paisa Savea - DT

#31: Craig Evans - DT

#32: Jalen Moore - S

#33: Justin Sattelmaier - OL

#34: Trevon Bradford - WR

#35: Jonathan Willis - ILB

#36: Tuli Wily-Matagi - TE

#37: Doug Taumoelau - ILB

#38: Shemar Smith - OLB

#39: Hamilcar Rashed Jr. - OLB

#40: David Morris - S/OLB

#41: Nick Porebski - P

#42: Omar Hicks-Onu - S

#43: Isaac Garcia - DE

#44: Andre Bodden- WR

#45: Trajon Cotton - S

#46: Shemiah Unutoa-Whitson - OLB

#47: Kolby Taylor - WR

#48: Darell Garretson - QB

#49: Jordan Choukair & Adley Rutschman - K

#50: Thor Katoa - DT/OLB