clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

OSU: The Ocho - 12/28/17 Edition

Wrestling heads east, Swimming travels south, and Gymnastics goes back in time

Cody Crawford
( Oregon State University )

Oregon State Wrestling travels to Hoffman Estates, Ill. December 29th and 30th to take part in the 55th Ken Kraft Midlands Championship. Known as one of the toughest folkstyle wrestling tournaments outside the NCAAs, the Midlands brings 15 of the top 25 programs in the nation, which helps establish a gauge on the season.

A pair of redshirt juniors head into the Midlands ranked inside the top-20 in Corey Greigo and Ronnie Bresser. Griego (197, 11-2) comes into the weekend ranked 11th in his class after winning the 2017 Navy Classic and finishing third in the Reno Tournament of Champions. Greigo, the reigning PAC-12 197 champion, is also

Corey Griego against Stanford
( Oregon State University )

the only Beaver to make the Midlands Contender Watch List. Fellow Beaver Ronnie Bresser (125, 7-2) ranks 10th in the 125 class with a fourth place showing at the Reno Tournament of Champions. Bresser, who was a redshirt for the 2016-27 campaign, was the PAC-12 125 champion in 2015 and runner-up in 2016.

Oregon State’s last trip to the Midlands ended with a 21st place finish in 2016.

The following Beavers are expected to travel: Ronnie Bresser (125, 7-2), Devan Turner (133, 6-6), Kegan Calkins (133, 5-5), Grant Willits (141, 6-2), Jack Hathaway (141, 11-6), Kurt Mode (149, 6-7), Conner Noonan (149, 9-5), Hunter Willits (157, 9-7), Billy Bigelow (165, 3-6), Myles Terry (174, 3-7), Colt Doyle (174, 2-2), Seth McLeod (184, 9-4), Corey Griego (197, 11-2), Amarveer Dhesi (HWT, 5-0), and Cody Crawford (HWT, 11-4).

Oregon State Women’s Swimming will travel to San Diego State on December 30th in their first dual meet since November 11th when they fell to Seattle University. The Beavers are currently 0-3 in duals so far this season, but have become more competitive week-by-week including a fourth-place showing at the 69th Annual Husky SCY Invitational, one spot above a Seattle University team that bested them one month prior.

The Beavers will rely heavily on junior Arianna Letrari, sophmore Felicia Anderson, and freshman Frenanda Rodriguez to lead the way in individual events against a San Diego State team that is 2-0 in duals this season and have showed dominance in invitational events. The Oregon State trio combined for seven individual wins in their November 11th dual at Seattle and added an eighth in the 400 medley relay alongside senior captain Noemie Midrez.

Sophomore Felicia Anderson
( Oregon State University )

Oregon State’s dual against San Diego State will mark the first since November 4th of last season when the Beavers fell to the Aztecs 113 – 139 but showed promise as Anderson, then a freshman, took first in the 100 backstroke and led 200 medley relay team to the top of the podium.

Kevin Hampton at the Albany Democrat-Herald released his Oregon State Gymnasts All-Time Team, in case you’re on a phone that doesn’t support fancy slideshows, the team is as follows:

Joy Selig (1989 – 91): Selig won the NCAA championship on the beam in 1989 and 1990 and the floor in 1990. She also earned top-four honors on the floor in 1988 (second), 1989 (fourth), and 1991 (third). Selig finished her career at Oregon State winning PAC-10 all-around titles in 1989 and 1991.

Chari Knight (1991 – 1994): In 1991 Knight finished in the NCAA top four in both the bars (second) and the beam (fourth) after finishing fifth in the PAC-10 all-around. The next year Knight won the 1992 PAC-10 all-around and finished with eight 10.00 scores for her career in the bars (5) and beam (3).

Mary Ayotte-Law (1979 – 1982): Ayotte-Law won the NCAA championship in the floor exercise in 1982 and finished third in the all-around that same year.

Amy Durham (1990 – 1993): Part of the dynasty in the late-80s to early-90s, Durham won the NCAA championship in the floor exercise in 1993 with a score of 10.00, one of two career perfect scores she had in that event.

Amy Durham
( Oregon State University )

Laurie Carter (1981 – 1984): Carter finished in the top eight in the beam three times in her career, winning the NCAA championship in 1981.

Leslie Mak (2009 – 2012): Mak won the PAC-12 Gymnast of the Year award in both 2011 and 2012 and holds the second best all-around score in school history at 39.675.

Madeline Gardiner (2014 – 2017): Gardiner was a two-time All-American at Oregon State in 2016 (second) and 2017 (first) with three top-three NCAA championship finishes on the beam for her career.

Heather Bennett (1994 – 1996): Bennett was the NCAA championship runner-up on the bars in 1996 with a score of 9.950 and finished her career with one 10.00 score in the event.

Heidi Anderson (1984 – 1985): Anderson finished in the top-three on the beam in both years at Oregon State, winning the NCAA championship it 1984.

Makayla Stambaugh (2010 – 2013): Makayla was an All-American two times in three different events earning second-team honors in 2012 and 2013 in the floor exercise and first-team in 2013 on the bars.

Kaytianna McMillan competing on beam
( Karl Maasdam )

Kaytinanna McMillan (2014 – 2017): McMillan was named All-American in 2016 (1st) and 2017 (2nd), as well as earing PAC-12 Gymnast of the Year in 2017. Unfortunately, McMillan never placed in the top-ten at the NCAA championships due to injuries.