clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2018 NCAA Baseball Selection Show Recap

New, comment

Oregon State hosts LSU, Northwestern State, and San Diego State in the Corvallis Regional.

NCAA Baseball: College World Series-LSU vs Oregon State Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

The NCAA Tournament selection committee named the complete 64 team field for the 2018 tournament this morning.

For the first time, the selection committee seeded the top 16 teams this year as opposed to the top eight. They are as follows:

  1. Florida
  2. Stanford
  3. Oregon State
  4. Ole Miss
  5. Arkansas
  6. North Carolina
  7. Florida State
  8. Georgia
  9. Texas Tech
  10. Clemson
  11. Stetson
  12. ECU
  13. Texas
  14. Minnesota
  15. Coastal Carolina
  16. NC State

Gainesville Regional: Florida, Columbia, FAU, Jacksonville

Raleigh Regional: NC State, Army, Northeastern, Auburn

Lubbock Regional: Texas Tech, New Mexico State, Kent State, Louisville

Athens Regional: Georgia, Campbell, Troy, Duke

Fayetteville Regional: Arkansas, Oral Roberts, Dallas Baptist, Southern Miss

Greenville Regional: ECU, UNC-Wilmington, Ohio State, South Carolina

Austin Regional: Texas, Texas Southern, Texas A&M, Indiana

Oxford Regional: Ole Miss, St. Louis, Missouri State, Tennessee Tech

Stanford Regional: Stanford, Wright State, Cal State Fullerton, Baylor

Conway Regional: Coastal Carolina, LIU Brooklyn, Washington, UConn

Clemson Regional: Clemson, Morehead State, St. John’s, Vanderbilt

Tallahassee Regional: Florida State, Samford, Oklahoma, Mississippi State

Chapel Hill Regional: North Carolina, North Carolina A&T, Houston, Purdue

DeLand Regional: Stetson, Hartford, Oklahoma State, South Florida

Minnesota Regional: Minnesota, Canisius, Gonzaga, UCLA

Corvallis Regional: Oregon State, Northwestern State, San Diego State, LSU

Here’s the complete bracket below.

Last Four In: Dallas Baptist, Northeastern, Troy, Arizona

First Four Out: Kentucky, UCF, Illinois, Oklahoma State

Oregon State has their work cut out for them. They open the postseason on Friday at 7:00 PM PT (formerly 7:30) against Northwestern State on ESPNU. They will also likely get a rematch against the team who eliminated them from the 2017 College World Series in LSU, but this time in the regional round.

NCAA Baseball: College World Series-LSU vs Oregon State Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

The winner of that regional would take on the winner of the Minnesota regional. For those that are curious, Oregon State would host that Super Regional, should they get there because of their #3 overall national seed.

Later this week on BTD, we’ll have complete breakdowns of the other three teams playing in the Corvallis regional, as well as content about the rest of the NCAA Tournament field.

For ticket information, I’d suggest watching @BeaverBaseball on Twitter or check out the link in the embedded tweet below.

Postseason baseball is finally here, Beaver fans. Get your game faces on.