clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WBB: Head Coach Scott Rueck Named Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year Finalist

Rueck was named of the four finalists for the award, which will be announced on April 1st.

NCAA Womens Basketball: PAC-12 Conference Tournament-Washington vs Oregon State Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

After leading the Beavers to an impressive 29-4 campaign so far, Oregon State head women’s basketball coach Scott Rueck has been named as one of just four finalists for the 2017 Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year Trophy, along with Texas head coach Karen Aston, UCONN head coach Geno Auriemma and Mississippi State head coach Vic Schaefer. An official announcement on the winner of the award will be announced on April 1st.

Rueck, who has compiled a 112-25 record over the past four seasons in Corvallis, currently has his team situated as a #2 seed in the NCAA Tournament for the second-straight year, after finishing as Pac-12 Regular Season Champions for the third-straight time. Earlier this season, Rueck was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year by a league-wide vote comprised of the team’s head coaches.

Just as he will see in the NCAA Tournament, Rueck will have some stiff competition to win the award, starting with UCONN’s Geno Auriemma, who has won the award in seven previous seasons (2016, 2009, 2008, 2002, 2000, 1997, 1995) and currently has his team in the midst of a 107-game winning streak. Texas’ Karen Aston led the Longhorns to a 23-8 overall record this season and a #3 seed in the NCAA Tournament, while Mississippi State head coach Vic Schaefer guided his Bulldogs to a 27-3 overall record and a #2 seed in the NCAA Tournament.

To help Coach Rueck potentially win the award (starting this year) the Naismith Trophy has decided to let you, “the fans” determine 5% of the total vote in an online “fan voting” competition. To vote for Coach Rueck, you should visit between March 20th and March 31st. For more information on the finalists, click here.