clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Conforto Pac-12 Freshman Of Year, Joins Smith On All-Conference Team

Oregon St.'s Michael Conforto is the Pac-12 Baseball Freshman of the Year. <em>(Photo by Andy Wooldridge)</em>
Oregon St.'s Michael Conforto is the Pac-12 Baseball Freshman of the Year. (Photo by Andy Wooldridge)

Oregon St. left fielder Michael Conforto has been named the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year in baseball, and joined his teammate, junior short stop Tyler Smith, on the Pac-12 All-Conference team. Conforto joins Darwin Barney in 2005 as the only Beavers ever to be named conference Freshman of the Year. Freshman pitcher Jace Fry also received honorable mention.

Updated: The Pac-12 originally released an incomplete Honorable Mention list.

Additional Beavers receiving Honorable Mention include sophomore pitcher Dan Child, senior third baseman Ryan Dunn, and sophomore catcher/designated hitter/infielder Jake Rodriguez.

Conforto, from Woodinville, WA, led the Pac-12 in RBIs, with 71, and slugging percentage (.603), and co-lead in home runs, with 13, and his 123 total bases was second in the conference.

Smith led the conference for more than half of the season, and finished hitting .350, 8th in the Pac-12, with a .440 on base percentage, 5th in the conference. These numbers came despite also being 3rd in the conference in sacrifice bunts.

Fry was 3rd in the Pac-12 in opponents' batting average, .216, and had the 9th lowest ERA, 2.48.

Child led the Beavers in innings pitched, and had Oregon St.'s second best ERA, 2.75.

Dunn hit .299, and was second on the team in the field in assists, with 150.

Rodriguez became the team's primary catcher, after having been primarily an infielder previously in his career.

Arizona junior shortstop Alex Mejia is the Pac-12 Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year as well. Oregon senior right handed pitcher Alex Keudell was named Pitcher of the Year, and Andy Lopez, coach of the conference co-champion Arizona Wildcats, was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year.

Here's the complete All-Conference Team:


All-Conference Team
Name Position Year School
Beau Amaral OF Jr. UCLA
Mark Appel RHP Jr. Stanford
Taylor Ard (2) 1B RS Jr. Washington State
David Berg RHP Fr. UCLA
Bobby Brown DH Sr. Arizona
Michael Conforto OF Fr. Oregon State
Joey DeMichele (2) 2B Jr. Arizona State
Johnny Field OF So. Arizona
Jeff Gelalich OF Jr. UCLA
Scott Griggs RHP Jr. UCLA
Tyler Heineman C Jr. UCLA
Kurt Heyer (3) RHP Jr. Arizona
Derek Jones OF Sr. Washington State
Alex Keudell RHP Sr. Oregon
Deven Marrero (2) SS Jr. Arizona State
Alex Mejia (2) SS Jr. Arizona
Seth Mejias-Brean 3B Jr. Arizona
Stephen Piscotty (2) 3B Jr. Stanford
Adam Plutko (2) RHP So. UCLA
Robert Refsnyder (2) OF Jr. Arizona
Tony Renda (3) 2B Jr. California
Brady Rodgers RHP Jr. Arizona State
Jimmie Sherfy RHP So. Oregon
Tyler Smith SS Jr. Oregon State
Trevor Williams RHP So. Arizona State
(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection
(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection

Honorable Mention: (Updated) Chase Anselment (WASH, Jr., DH); Andrew Aplin (ASU, Jr., OF); Jake Barrett (ASU, Jr., RHP); Alex Blandino (STAN, Fr., 3B); James Brooks (UTAH, Sr., SS); Dan Child (OSU, So., RHP); Ryan Deeter (UCLA, RS So., RHP); Mitch Delfino (CAL, Jr., 1B); Ryan Dunn (OSU, Sr., 3B); Matt Flemer (CAL, Sr., RHP); Matt Foat (USC, Sr., 1B); Josh Fredendall (WASH, Jr., RHP); Jace Fry (OSU, Jr., LHP); Ryon Healy (ORE, So., 1B); Aaron Jones (ORE, So., OF); Jacob Lamb (WASH, Jr., 3B); James McDonald (ASU, So., DH); Parker Morin (UTAH, Jr., C); Aaron Payne (ORE, So., 2B); Brian Ragira (STAN, So., 1B); Jayce Ray (WASH, Jr., OF); Jake Reed (ORE, Fr., RHP); Joey Rickard (ARIZ, Jr., OF); Jake Rodriguez (OSU, So., C); Max Rossiter (ASU, Jr., C); Abe Ruiz (ASU, Sr., 1B); Eric Smith (STAN, Jr., C); Stephen Tarpley (USC, Fr., LHP), Austin Wilson (STAN, So., OF).