clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2020 Wuerffel Trophy: Jaydon Grant & Isaac Hodgins Included On Preseason Watch List

The two defensive stand-outs made the initial cut for the accolade.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 30 Oregon State at Oregon Photo by Brian Murphy/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The Beavers continue to rack up preseason honors off the field, as this week defensive back Jaydon Grant and defensive lineman Isaac Hodgins were both included on the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy Watch List. The Wuerffel Trophy “exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society, and inspire greater service in the world.”

114 players are included on this year’s watch list from almost one hundred different schools. Past winners of the award include notables such as Tim Tebow (2008 - Florida), Sam Acho (2010 - Texas) and Matt Barkley (2012 - USC). Western Michigan quarterback Jon Wassink took home last year’s accolade.

The winner of the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy will be named on December 8th, after a group of semi-finalists are announced in early November and eventually finalists in late November.