clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Oregon State Football Players Named To 2018 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award Watch List

Noah Togiai, Gus Lavaka, and Kalani Vakameilalo were included on the 50 player list.

NCAA Football: Oregon State at California Neville E. Guard-USA TODAY Sports

Oregon State has had many great football players of Polynesian descent over the years. Three current players making an impact for the Beavs are tight end Noah Togiai, offensive lineman Gus Lavaka, and defensive lineman Kalani Vakameilalo. For their efforts on the field, their future potential, and their integrity off the field, the three were included in the list of fifty players from 34 different schools.

Togiai, a redshirt junior, was the Beavs leading receiver last season with 34 catches for 461 yards and made the Associated Press All-Pac-12 Second Team. Lavaka, now in his junior season, has been a mainstay in the Beavs’ offensive line since his freshman year. Vakameilalo has grown into an important piece of the defensive line with 47 tackles, eight TFLs, and six sacks in three seasons at OSU.

Oregon State v Washington Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

Five finalists for this year’s Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on December fifth. The winner will be announced on Dec. 14 they will be recognized at halftime of the Polynesian Bowl at Aloha Stadium.

The Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award has been around since 2014 when Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota won the first award. Washington State defensive end Hercules Mata`afa won last year’s award.

Here are all the finalists for this year’s award:

Looking forward to big things from these big men in 2018.