clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Oregon State Punter Nick Porebski Named To Ray Guy Award Watch-List

The Ray Guy Award is presented annually to the top punter in all of college football.

NCAA Football: Pac-12 Media Day Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

When the “Ray Guy Award Watch-List” was released to the public on Wednesday, it was no surprise to see Oregon State punter Nick Porebski’s name on the list of the top punters in all of college football. The question now for Porebski is will the Beavers’ special teams stand-out take home the prize at the end of the season.

Porebski’s name is on the list alongside 29 other potential contenders for the award, including Utah punter Mitch Wishnowsky, the reigning award winner, and Texas’ Michael Dickson, last year’s runner-up. Other notables on the list from the Pac-12 include Stanford’s Jake Bailey, California’s Steven Coutts and USC’s Chris Tilbey.

The watch-list serves as an indicator into the top punting talents heading into the 2017 season, which then will be expanded during the regular season with new players who can be nominated for the award. From there, an official list of candidates will be released on October 31st and cut down to a group of ten semi-finalists by November 16th. On November 21st, three finalists will be selected and voted upon, for a winner that will be announced on December 7th at The College Football Awards.

The Ray Guy Award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate punter by The Augusta Sports Council.