clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pac-12 Media DayS Are Today and Tomorrow

The Pac-12 is following the trend of other conferences with their football preseason Media event at Paramount Studios in Los Angeles.

First of all, they are now Media DayS (plural), with what has been packed into one day now expanded, with half the conference featured today, and the other half tomorrow.

And the event can now be watched on an actual TV (this would have seemed to be a no-brainer for an organization with its own channel, but at least its now reality), instead of having to settle for an internet stream, if you aren't served by the largest satellite service in the world, that is.

If you are at a location without access to the Pac-12 channel, you can still watch it on-line. The show begins at 9 AM each day.

The divisions and natural rivals are split up between the days, and Oregon St. is on tap for tomorrow (Thursday), at 10:54 AM, the 3rd of 6 sessions in the session that starts each day in the 9:30 tv window.

In addition to Oregon St. head coach Mike Riley, the Beavers will be represented by quarterback Sean Mannion and linebacker Michael Doctor, both senior captains.

Here's the schedule and lineup of conference luminaries (Times PDT):

Guests On Pac-12 Networks
Utah's Kyle Whittingham, Dres Anderson, Nate Orchard 9:35 a.m.
Arizona's Rich Rodriguez, Austin Hill, Jared Tevis 10:12 a.m.
Cal's Sonny Dykes, Jared Goff, Stefan McClure 10:52 a.m.
Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott 11:17 a.m.
USC's Steve Sarkisian, Cody Kessler, Leonard Williams 11:31 a.m.
Oregon's Mark Helfrich, Marcus Mariota, Derrick Malone 12:12 p.m.
Washington State's Mike Leach, Connor Halliday, Darryl Monroe 12:50 p.m.

Additionally, at 1:30 PM, Gina Lehe, the senior director of communications for the new 4 team College Football Playoff system that will make its debut this year as the replacement for the BCS National Championship, will field questions.

And here's who will appear on Thursday, July 24 (all times PDT):

Guests On Pac-12 Networks
Colorado's Mike MacIntyre, Nelson Spruce, Judah Parker 9:38 a.m.
Arizona State's Todd Graham, Taylor Kelly, Jamil Douglas 10:16 a.m.
Oregon State's Mike Riley, Sean Mannion, Michael Doctor 10:54 a.m.
UCLA's Jim Mora, Brett Hundley, Eric Kendricks 11:32 a.m.
Washington's Chris Petersen, Ben Riva, Hau'oli Kikaha 12:11 p.m.
Stanford's David Shaw, Kevin Hogan, Jordan Richards 1:04 p.m.

The Pac-12 Media Poll has also been released in preparation for the Media Days events, and Oregon is picked to defeat UCLA for the Conference championship, after the Ducks and Bruins win the Pac-12 North & South.

Oregon St. is picked to finish 4th in the North.

My picks align exactly with the rest of the conference writers for the North, and for Oregon to claim the title, but the writers overall have the top 2 in the south flipped from my ballot, and also have 4th & 5th flipped.

A number of us SB Nation writers that cover the Pac-12 for the various sites also did our own poll, with 6 of your BTD scribes chiming in, and that wound up exactly mirroring the larger Pac-12 media community, and with relatively little individual ballot variation.

So either there will be a lot of "chalk" results this year, or a lot of evidence that we don't really know what we are writing about.