clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College World Series Field Set

Eight teams are headed to Omaha.

TCU Is One Of Just Two National Seeds Still Alive
TCU Is One Of Just Two National Seeds Still Alive
Jayne Kamin-Oncea-US PRESSWIRE

The NCAA Tournament field has been whittled down from 64 to eight, and only two national seeds are headed to the College World Series. Virginia and TCU headline the eight qualifiers, followed by other one seeds Louisville, Vanderbilt, and Mississippi. Five teams made it in by sweeping their Super Regional series, and only the Cardinals have advanced without dropping a game in the tournament.

The CWS begins on Saturday afternoon with Texas taking on UC Irvine. The Anteaters eliminated Oregon State in Regional play and are the only three seed left in the field. The other game on Saturday features Louisville and Vanderbilt.

An all-Texas matchup starts Sunday's play with TCU and Texas Tech. Virginia and Mississippi close the opening round in the second all-one seed game.

The best of three championship series begins at 5:00 PM Pacific on June 23. All games will be shown on the ESPN family of networks.