clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Oregon State To Host UNLV, UC Irvine, and North Dakota State In Corvallis Regional

New, comments

Best of the west coming to Corvallis.

Michael Conforto And Oregon State Own The Number One National Seed
Michael Conforto And Oregon State Own The Number One National Seed

Oregon State, who shocked the nation Monday morning when it was revealed it would be the number one overall seed in this year's tournament, their highest seed ever, will host UNLV, UC Irvine, and North Dakota State this weekend in the Corvallis Regional. By virtue of gaining a national seed, the Beavers are automatically the one in their own region, with the Rebels behind them at two, the Anteaters at three, and the Bison at four.

Oregon State will face North Dakota State on Friday at 8:00 PM PT in a game that will be televised by ESPNU. The Bison finished the season at 25-24 overall, with a 10-12 mark in the Summit. Their only quality win came against Evansville back in March and they went 0-3 against opponents shared with the Beavers. Junior David Ernst will likely take the bump on Friday, coming in with a record of 5-4 and a 3.70 ERA. At the plate, outfielder Tim Colwell leads NDSU with a .376 average and 22 RBI's.

Preceding the NDSU-OSU battle will be the opening game between UNLV and UC Irvine at 2:00 PM. The Anteaters were one of the selection committee's last four teams to make the tournament field. The Rebels have posted wins over the likes of New Mexico (5), Nebraska (2), and San Diego State (4), so they can surely play with the best in the nation in a regional format. UCI has quality victories over Arizona State, Nebraska, and Cal Poly.

Junior Morgan Stotts leads the Rebels at the plate, batting a clean .346. He's got 35 RBI's and 12 doubles on the year. Sophomore infielder Connor Spencer is the guy to watch for Irvine. He's second on the team with a .361 average.

Of course, also released Monday were the eight national seeds, and as we mentioned in the opening, the Beavers got a good surprise when they were announced. Pat Casey and company heard their name called first on the ESPNU broadcast this morning. Florida, Virginia, Indiana, Florida State, Louisiana-Lafayette, TCU, and LSU round out the top eight.

Four other teams from the Pac-12 were selected. Arizona State will be the two seed in the San Luis Obispo Regional, joining Cal Poly, Pepperdine, and Sacramento State. Oregon is also a two, and the Ducks are headed to Nashville along with Clemson, Xavier, and of course, host Vanderbilt.

Washington is the conference's final two seed. The Huskies will make the trip to Oxford where they join Mississippi, Georgia Tech, and Jacksonville State. Stanford rounds out the Pac's representation as a three seed in the Bloomington Regional. Indiana, Indiana State, and Youngstown State join the Cardinal there.

The Corvallis Regional is paired with Stillwater's for the Super Regionals. That is one of the toughest regionals in the field, featuring Oklahoma State, Nebraska, Cal State Fullerton, and Binghamton. The Cowboys were the Big 12 regular season champion.

To view the entire bracket, click here. The Beavers ended up playing seven teams that made the tournament, posting a 14-6 record against all of them. Looking further down the line, if the brackets were to hold all the way to the College World Series, Oregon State would meet LSU in the opening game. The Tigers have a fairly easy regional, playing SE Louisiana first, then either Houston or Bryant.