clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Conforto, Casey Named Pac-12 Player And Coach Of The Year

Oregon State dominates the Pac-12 end-of-season awards

Your Pac-12 Player Of The Year, Michael Conforto
Your Pac-12 Player Of The Year, Michael Conforto
credit: Ross William Hamilton

Oregon State left fielder Michael Conforto has been named the Pac-12 Player of the Year in baseball, while Pat Casey was named the Conference Coach of the Year. Conforto is Oregon State's 11th ever Conference Player of the Year. Freshman Andrew Moore also took home a prestigious award, being named the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year. Seven Beavers were also named to the all-conference team.

In addition, junior second basemen Andy Peterson and junior reliever Scott Schultz were named to the honorable mention list.

Conforto, from Woodinville, WA, finished the regular season first in on base percentage and walks drawn, and in a tie for second in home runs hit.

Dylan Davis, Jake Rodriguez, and Tyler Smith were the other offensive Beavers named to the all-conference team. Davis led the Pac-12 in RBI's and doubles, while Rodriguez topped the league in sacrifice flies and finished third in throwing out potential base-stealers. Smith finished inside the top ten in both runs scored and fielding double plays.

On the mound, Matt Boyd, Andrew Moore, and Ben Wetzler were all named to the all-Pac-12 team.

Boyd led the league in innings pitched and finished tied for second in strikeouts, while Moore finished first in ERA for starting pitchers, first in wins, and second in opposing batting percentage. Wetzler finished third in the conference for ERA among starters and seventh in hits allowed.

Moore and Boyd were also named to the Collegiate Baseball All-America teams. Moore is a second team selection, and Boyd is on the third team.

UCLA sophomore David Berg took home the conference pitcher of the year award, going 6-0 with 18 saves. His teammate Pat Valaika took home Defensive Player of the Year honors.

The 7 players named to the first team is the most ever for Oregon St., surpassing the 6 Beavers from the 2005 team that were selected.

Here's the complete All-Conference Team:

2013 All-Conference Baseball Team
Name Position Year School
Mark Appel (2) RHP Sr. Stanford
J.J. Altobelli SS Sr. Oregon
Michael Benjamin 3B Jr. Arizona State
David Berg (2) RHP So. UCLA
Matt Boyd LHP Sr. Oregon State
Kasey Coffman OF Jr. Arizona State
Michael Conforto (2) OF So. Oregon State
Dylan Davis OF So. Oregon State
Brandon Dixon 3B Jr. Arizona
Johnny Field (2) OF Jr. Arizona
Ryon Healy 1B Jr. Oregon
Ryan Kellogg LHP Fr. Arizona State
Andrew Moore RHP Fr. Oregon State
Andrew Knapp C Jr. California
Kevin Newman SS Fr. Arizona
Adam Plutko (3) RHP Jr. UCLA
Brian Ragira 1B Jr. Stanford
Justin Ringo DH Sr. Stanford
Jake Rodriguez C Jr. Oregon State
Jimmie Sherfy (2) RHP Jr. Oregon
Tyler Smith (2) SS Sr. Oregon State
Tommy Thorpe LHP So. Oregon
Pat Valaika SS Jr. UCLA
Nick Vander Tuig RHP Jr. UCLA
Ben Wetzler LHP Jr. Oregon State

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection

(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection

Honorable Mention: Trever Allen (ASU, So., OF); Ryan Burr (ASU, Fr., RHP); Michael Camporeale (WASH, Sr., OF/DH); Brian Carroll (UCLA, Jr., OF); Danny Diekroeger (STAN, Jr., 2B); Trent Gilbert (ARIZ, So., 2B); Cole Irvin (ORE, Fr., LHP); Kevin Kramer (UCLA, So., 3B); Adam Landecker (USC, Sr., 2B); Jason Monda (WSU, Jr., OF/RP); Andy Peterson (OSU; Jr., 2B); Jayce Ray (WASH, Sr., OF); Max Rossiter (ASU, Sr., C); Scott Schultz (OSU, Jr., RHP); Collin Slaybaugh (WSU, Jr., C); Garrett Stubbs (USC, So., C); Brett Thomas (ORE, Jr., OF); Austin Voth (WASH, Jr., RHP); Mitch Watrous (UTAH, So., RHP); Greg Zebrack (USC, Sr., OF).