clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baseball and Gymnastics Highlight Bennys

The 2010-11 Benny Awards Have Been Handed Out.

<em>(Photo by Andy Wooldridge)</em>
The 2010-11 Benny Awards Have Been Handed Out. (Photo by Andy Wooldridge)

The "Benny" awards for the 2010-11 year were handed out Thursday night, and the Oregon St. teams that garnered the most recognition were baseball and gymnastics teams, which were honored as the Male and Female Teams of the Year.

Baseball coach Pat Casey also won the Benny for Male Coach of the Year, and gymnastics coach Tanya Chaplin received the Female Coach of the Year award.

Football player Stephen Paea received the Male Athlete of the Year award, and women's soccer player Colleen Boyd and gymnast Leslie Mak were co-recipients of the Female Athlete of the Year honors.

Paea was a 2010 Associated Press and Sports Illustrated first team All-American, and also earned the Pac-10 Conference's Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year, before being drafted by the Chicago Bears.

Boyd had the best season ever by a goalkeeper in OSU history, setting four school records, including 14 shutouts, and the longest string of consecutive scoreless minutes in program history.

Mak was named the Pac-10 Gymnast of the Year after capturing the conference's all-around and balance beam titles and added a tie in the uneven bars.

Men's golfer Alex Moore and pitcher Josh Osich shared Male Performance of the Year honors, and the female Performance of the Year award went to gymnast Jen Kesler.

Kavin Keyes, who enrolled early in order to play baseball this year, was presented the Joe Zaher Male Newcomer of the Year, and soccer's Jenna Richardson was named the Female Newcomer of the Year.

The Robert Byers Spirit Award recipients are football player Taylor Kavanaugh and El Sara Greer from the women's basketball team.

The Glenn Klein Community Service Award was presented to women's rower Devery Karz and football's Lance Mitchell.

Norb Wellman, a starting pitcher for the 1952 baseball team that made Oregon State's first College World Series appearance, was honored with the Martin Chaves Lifetime Achievement Award.

Complete list of Benny WInners:

Male Team of the Year: Baseball

Female Team of the Year: Gymnastics

Male Athlete of the Year: Stephen Paea (football)

Co-Female Athletes of the Year: Colleen Boyd (women's soccer) and Leslie Mak (gymnastics)

Co-Male Performance of the Year: Alex Moore (men's golf) and Josh Osich (baseball)

Female Performance of the Year: Jen Kesler (gymnastics)

Joe Zaher Male Newcomer of the Year: Kavin Keyes (baseball)

Female Newcomer of the Year: Jenna Richardson (women's soccer)

Male Coach of the Year: Pat Casey (baseball)

Female Coach of the Year: Tanya Chaplin (gymnastics)

Robert Byers Spirit Award: Taylor Kavanaugh (Beavers Without Borders) and El Sara Greer (women's basketball)

Glenn Klein Community Service Award: Devery Karz (women's rowing) and Lance Mitchell (football)

Martin Chaves Lifetime Achievement Award: Norb Wellman

All-Americans: Colleen Boyd (women's soccer), Colby Covington (wrestling), Jen Kesler (gymnastics), Leslie Mak (gymnastics), Stephen Paea (football), Jenna Richardson (women's soccer), Makayla Stambaugh (gymnastics); Olivia Vivian (gymnastics) and Sam Gaviglio (baseball)

Regional champions: Gymnastics team, Leslie Mak (gymnastics), Britney Ranzy (gymnastics) and Makayla Stambaugh (gymnastics)

Pac-10 champions: Gymnastics team, Colby Covington (wrestling), Clayton Jack (wrestling), Leslie Mak (gymnastics - all-around), Leslie Mak (gymnastics - balance beam), Leslie Mak (gymnastics - uneven bars), Makayla Stambaugh (gymnastics - uneven bars) and Olivia Vivian (gymnastics - uneven bars)

Scholar-athletes: Kaitlan Locke (volleyball), Hayley Oveson (cross country/track), Kiersten Sambrailo (volleyball), Jill Sawatzky (volleyball), Sam Schwartz (men's rowing), Hannah Soza-Hodgkinson (cross country/track), Krista Stangel (cross country/track), Katy Tai (women's rowing), Celia Magistrale (women's rowing), and Mitchell Canham (baseball)