clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oregon State Football Announces 2021 Captains

The Beavers name their four captains for 2021.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: OCT 06 Washington State at Oregon State

Oregon State head football coach Jonathan Smith named the program’s four captains for the 2021 season on Saturday, selecting quarterback Tristan Gebbia, defensive back Jaydon Grant, linebacker Avery Roberts and linebacker Andrzej Hughes-Murray to lead the group.

Gebbia is facing tough competition from Sam Noyer, Sam Vidlak & Chance Nolan to retain his spot as starting quarterback. Gebbia was a captain last season, so it would actually be more surprising for him to NOT be named a captain headed into this new season. I don’t think it necessarily means that Gebbia will be the week 1 starter though; especially if he is limited in practice due to hamstring soreness.

Surprisingly all four captains were on this team last year. The only difference was the decision to swap Isaac Hodgins out as captain (as he recovers from foot surgery) and replace him with Avery Roberts, who has been a tackling machine for the Beavers. Jaydon Grant and Andrzej Hughes-Murray are repeat captains and will play a big role defensively.

The Beavers begin their 2021 season on Saturday, September 4th in West Lafayette, Indiana at 4:00 PM PT against Purdue. The game will be televised nationally on Fox Sports 1.