clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BTD’s Mid-Season Pac-12 Basketball Awards

Who’d grab some hardware if the season ended today?

Washington v USC Photo by John McCoy/Getty Images

Player of the Year: Evan Mobley (USC)

Washington State v USC
USC’s Evan Mobley is a force on the interior.
Photo by John McCoy/Getty Images

The highly touted recruit has stepped right in for USC and helped the Trojans to an 11-2 mark on the season, while also leading the Pac-12 in rebounds and blocks. He currently ranks in the top ten in scoring and field goal percentage in the league as well, showing his versatility on both ends of the floor. The projected lottery pick may have one eye towards the next level, but he’s that’s not distracting him from tearing up the Conference of Champions in the meantime.

Coach of the Year: Mick Cronin (UCLA)

San Diego v UCLA
Mick Cronin has UCLA rolling right now.
Photo by Jayne Kamin-Oncea/Getty Images

Winning at UCLA is simply not good enough for their fan base who still believes that they should be rattling off titles like John Wooden did in Westwood during the 1960-70’s. However, back on planet earth, Mick Cronin has done a terrific job in stabilizing the culture of the Bruins, which for years has been so unhinged due to constant player movement. UCLA is 7-0 against league foes to pair with a strong 11-2 overall record and currently, they’re on a six-game winning streak.

Newcomer of the Year: Eugene Omoruyi (Oregon)

COLLEGE BASKETBALL: DEC 12 Oregon at Washington
Eugene Omoruyi is a hard to handle talent.
Photo by Jeff Halstead/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The transfer from Rutgers was thrust in as the focal point of Oregon’s frontcourt and his role expanded even more so after center N’Faly Dante was lost for the season due to injury. The Ducks need a piece like Omoruyi more than ever right now and he’s come through for Dana Altman time and time again. Omoruyi currently is averaging 16.9 points, 4.6 rebounds and an underrated 2.3 assists per game for Oregon.

All-Conference First Team

  • Isaac Bonton (Washington State)
  • Oscar da Silva (Stanford)
  • Chris Duarte (Oregon)
  • Evan Mobley (USC)
  • McKinley Wright IV (Colorado)

All-Conference Second Team

  • Timmy Allen (Utah)
  • Josh Christopher (Arizona State)
  • Remy Martin (Arizona State)
  • Eugene Omoruyi (Oregon)
  • Ethan Thompson (Oregon State)

All-Conference Third Team

  • James Akinjo (Arizona)
  • Tyger Campbell (UCLA)
  • Quade Green (Washington)
  • Alonzo Verge Jr (Arizona State)
  • Ziaire Williams (Stanford)