clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2021 College Football Hall of Fame: Oregon State’s Ken Simonton and Mike Hass Included On National Ballot

The former Beavers made the cut for the ballot.

Ken Simonton #35

On Tuesday, the National Football Foundation in conjunction with the College Football Hall of Fame put out their list of former players and coaches who will be included on the 2021 ballot for admittance into the College Football Hall of Fame.

For Beaver Nation, two very familiar faces in former running back Ken Simonton and wide receiver Mike Hass were among the potential choices.

Simonton was a stand-out for Oregon State from 1998-2001, claiming school records with 5,044 rushing yards and 59 touchdowns, en route to being named a 2000 First Team All-American in which he finished in the Top 10 for the Heisman Trophy. Known for his short, yet stout frame, the elusive tailback was also a two-time All-Pac-10 selection and exited Corvallis with 26 100-plus yard rushing performances to his name.

As for Hass, the one-time walk-on suited up for the Beavers from 2001-2005, capping his career with the Biletnikoff Award in his senior season, when he caught 90 passes for 1,532 yards. A fellow two-time First Team All-Pac-10 selection, the Portland-native and Jesuit High School graduate was also the first Conference of Champions player to post three seasons in which he tallied over 1,000 receiving yards.

If Simonton, Hass or both of the duo were to be voted into the College Football Hall of Fame, they would join an elite class of Beavers legends already inducted, such as 1962 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Terry Baker, one-time linebacker turned running back Bill Enyart and former Oregon State and NFL head coaches Tommy Prothro and Dennis Erickson.

However, both Simonton and Hass’ chances may be slim, as College Football News took the time to rank all 78 FBS players candidates on the ballot, with Simonton coming in at #53 overall and Hass taking the #69 spot.

The ballot, which is voted on by more than 12,000 members of the National Football Foundation and by currently inducted Hall of Famers will be announced early in 2021 and the inducted members will be honored in December of next year at the National Football Foundation Awards Dinner.

The potential class of 2021 is headlined by former college legends, such as USC quarterback Carson Palmer, Colorado running back Rashaan Salaam, Ohio State linebacker James Laurinaitis, North Carolina defensive end Julius Peppers and Oklahoma head coach Bob Stoops.