clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pat Casey Named 2017 National Coach Of The Year

This marks Casey’s fourth year being named COY by at least one publication.

NCAA Men's College World Series Championship Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

In a press release from Oregon State on Saturday morning, the school announced that Pat Casey had been named the Coach of the Year by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

Casey has now been named the national coach of the year by at least one publication in four different years, earning the honor in 2005, 2006 and 2007 prior to Saturday's honor. The 23rd-year head coach – 30 overall including seven seasons at George Fox – has guided the Beavers to a school-record 54 victories this season. Twenty-seven of those 54 wins came during Pac-12 play, which set a conference record for the most wins in league action. OSU finished the season six games ahead of second-place Stanford, the largest winning margin in more than 30 years.

We’ll see if this gives the Beavs a little extra gas in the tank as they begin the College World Series today at Noon PT against Fullerton.