clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oregon State Punter Nick Porebski Makes Ray Guy Award Pre-Season Watch-List

Junior punter Nick Porebski was named to the Ray Guy Award Pre-Season Watch-List, which is annually presented to the country's top college punter.

Gene Sweeney Jr./Getty Images

After a standout sophomore campaign in which he booted 72 punts with a 41.4 yards per punt average, Oregon State junior punter Nick Porebski was named to the Ray Guy Award Pre-Season Watch-List for the 2016 season. The Beavers special teams star is the first player from the team to be listed on a National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) Watch-List this summer.

The Ray Guy Award is presented annually at the end of the college football season by the Augusta Sports Council to the nation's top college punter. Players are selected to the award's watch-list by a national body of coaches, sports writers, sports information directors and past winners of the award. Porebski finished last season as a semi-finalist for the award, alongside Ohio State's Cameron Johnston, Florida's Johnny Townsend, Oklahoma's Austin Seibert, Wake Forest's Alex Kinal, Texas A&M's Drew Kaser, Colorado State's Hayden Hunt, Syracuse's Riley Dixon, San Jose State's Michael Carrizosa and Utah's Tom Hackett. Hackett, who is currently on the New York Jets roster, was the 2015 Ray Guy Award winner.

Porebski transferred to Oregon State after one season of junior college football at Snow College in 2013, where he was named a NJCAA (National Junior College Athletic Association) First Team All-American. After arriving in Corvallis, the Melbourne, Australia native was immediately put into action, being asked to punt at at least six times in each of the first five games of the 2015 season. Porebski's heavy workload, sometimes synonymous with the team's glaring inefficiencies, helped to showcase his abilities as one of the country's top punters.

The NCFAA releases watch-lists for a multitude of different college football awards throughout the month of July, in preparation for the 2016 season. Tomorrow, the Bronco Nagurski Trophy (Best Defensive Player) and Outland Trophy (Best Interior Lineman) watch-lists are set to be released, followed by watch-lists for the Jim Thorpe Award (Best Defensive Back) on July 11th, Butkus Award (Best Linebacker) and Rotary Lombardi Award (Best Lineman) on July 12th, Biletnikoff Award (Best Wide Receiver) and Wuerffel Trophy (Community Service / Academic Achievement) on July 13th, Davey O'Brien Award (Best Quarterback) and Doak Walker Award (Best Running Back) on July 14th, and the Walter Camp Award (Player of the Year) on July 15th.