clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

4 Beaver Football Players Heading To Pac-10 Track and Field Meet

Four Oregon St. football players are headed to the Pac-10 Track and Field Championships, along with 9 women, this weekend, May 15 & 16, in Berkeley. It will be the first appearance by OSU men's competitors at the Pac-10 meet in 22 years.

Keyan Parker will be competing in the 100 meters and Markus Wheaton the 200 meters, while Jordan Bishop and Obum Gwacham the high jump.

Bishop competed in the high jump twice during the indoor season, putting up a best height of 7'-0.5" at the University of Washington Last Chance Qualifier meet in March. 

Gwacham also competed twice in the high jump in the indoor season, posting a best height of 7'-1.0" at the Last Chance Qualifier. Gwachum competed twice during the outdoor track season as well, at the Oregon Preview in March, and last week when he won the event at the Oregon Twilight meet. At both outdoor meets he posted a height of 7'-1.75", 17th. overall in the country.

Bishop and Gwachum are only the ninth and tenth Beavers to ever clear seven feet in the high jump.

The Pac-10 Championship meet is the last opportunity of the season for the Beavers to improve their season and personal bests, and possibly qualify for the NCAA West Regional in Austin, Texas on May 27-29. To qualify for the west regional, athletes do not have to hit a qualifying mark in the event as has been the case in previous years, but must finish with a mark in the top 48 in the region.

For the women, Laura Carlyle and Casey Masterson will compete in the 1,500 meters, Ashley Berry, Taylor Hunt and Ashley Mayfield in the 800, Olivia Poblacion the 3,000 meter steeplechase, Sandra Martinez and Hannah Soza-Hodgkinson the 10,000, and Abby Chesimet the 5,000.

Preliminaries are Friday, with finals for those that advance on Saturday, except for the 5,000 and the high jump, which will be conducted completely on Saturday.

FSN will replay highlights from the event Friday, May 21, at 11 AM, and Saturday, May 22, at noon.