clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Quizz One of 10 Semi-finalists for Doak Walker Award

Jacquizz Rodgers has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 20th. annual Doak Walker Award, which is given annually to the nation's top running back in the Football Bowl Subdivision. It's the second season ending award he has made the semi-final list for in the last week, having also been named as one of 16 players on the Maxwell Award, given to the top overall player, semifinalist list last week.  

Quizz, in his sophomore season, is currently tied for second in the nation for touchdowns scored, with 16, and is third in the Pac-10 Conference in rushing yards per game at 109.9.

Reggie Bush of USC in 2005 and Greg Lewis of Washington in 1990 are the only two Pac-10 players to win the Doak Walker.

The semifinalist list this year includes Toby Gerhart of Stanford, Donald Buckram of UTEP, Jonathan Dwyer of Georgia Tech, Mark Ingram of Alabama, Dion Lewis of Pittsburgh, Ryan Mathews of Fresno State, C.J. Spiller of Clemson, Ben Tate of Auburn and Ryan Williams of Virginia Tech. 

The winner of the Doak Walker Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec 10.