Oregon State wrestling claims second consecutive Pac-12 championship


The Oregon State wrestling team claimed their second consecutive conference championship. The Beavs scored 158.0 total points for a 21.5 point victory over the runner up Boise State Broncos. This was the highest winning point total by a Pac-12 team in the last twenty years and was Oregon State's fourth team title in the last seven years.

Hang another banner in Gill Coliseum! This last Saturday the OSU wrestling team continued their winning ways and won going away the Pac-12 Championship hosted in Tempe, Arizona. The Beavs wrestling has established a strong tradition under Head Coach Jim Zalesky, who in his seventh season has an overall record of 76-29-2. Wrestling may be beneath the radar versus the bigger name sports, but the OSU tradition in the sport is strong and as the OSU site describes is "one of the winningest programs in college wrestling history" (OSU Athletic site).

Oregon State completed the regular season with an overall 11-4 record and was 3-1 in Pac-12 competition.

In this year's conference championship the 11th ranked OSU team tied the 21st ranked Boise State Broncos with three individual conference championships. The Beavs though had the most wrestlers in individual championship finals with six. Senior Mike Mangrum lead the way for the Beavs earning the tournament’s Most Falls award that included only two in just under six-and-a-half minutes. And overall as a team the Beavers made dominated with the bonus points. The three individual championships included sophomore Taylor Meeks (197) and senior Chad Hanke (HWT: heavy weight) who both closed out the tournament with their first individual weight class crowns, and Michael Mangrum was the third earlier champion winning his class (141).

“We scored points and everybody won a lot of matches. Everybody placed in the top three so that’s good because we haven’t done that before. In a tournament you win some tough matches and you lose some tough matches so it’s hard to feel really great about it because there is still work to do before the NCAA Tournament.” - OSU Head Coach Jim Zalesky

The tournament was contested by Oregon State, Boise State, Stanford, CSU Bakersfield, Arizona State, and Cal Poly. and the final team standings broke down as follows:



Oregon State

158.0 ----- 3
Boise State 136.5 21.5 3
Arizona State 110.5 47.5 0
CSU Bakersfield 108.5 49.5 2
Stanford 103.5 54.5 1
Cal Poly SLO 82.0 76.0 1

From: http://www.osubeavers.com/sports/m-wrestl/recaps/030213aaa.html

Additionally, out of the twenty-one automatic bids to the NCAA Championships awarded at the Pac-12 Championships the Beavers received seven qualifying bids including: Mike Mangrum, Scott Sakaguchi, RJ Pena, Cody Weishoff, Ty Vinson, Taylor Meeks, and Chad Hanke. The NCAA Championships will be held March 21-23 in Des Moines, Iowa. OSU placed 10th in the 2012 Championships.

Congratulations to those qualifiers and also the entire OSU wrestling program. Good luck at the NCAAs! Go Beavs!

SB Nation Featured Video
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Building The Dam

You must be a member of Building The Dam to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Building The Dam. You should read them.

Join Building The Dam

You must be a member of Building The Dam to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Building The Dam. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.